10 Free Frontend Courses For New Coders

10 Free Frontend Courses For New Coders

For the past 3 months, I have been dedicated to gaining enough knowledge to hopefully land a frontend developer job before the summer. In the process of this, I have paid for courses and used free courses that have helped me progress.

I want to share the free courses that I have found very useful to me and the courses that I plan to use in the future as I continue this career change journey.

1. CODE DAILY

Code Daily is a free online course provided by Jason Brown. The courses are centred around project-based learning, most of the projects you will make will be created in React Native.

Screenshot (25).png

2. WES BOS

Wes Bos multiple free awesome courses that will improve your frontend knowledge. The Wes Bos courses I use are CSS Grid, Flexbox, Javascript and Redux .

Screenshot (87).png

3. FRONTEND MENTOR

Frontend Mentor is not necessarily a course it is an online challenge, however, I learned a lot faster by completing the Frontend challenges. It forced me to not rely on tutorials and use the knowledge I already have.

Screenshot (84).png

4. GRASSHOPPER

If you are new to JavaScript then Grasshopper is a great introduction. It has lots of activities you need to complete which guides you through JS fundamentals.

Screenshot (82).png

5. KEVIN POWELL

If you are struggling to make responsive websites Kevin Powell's course will step you up for awesome web development skills. This course stepped up my CSS knowledge and I'm so grateful for it.

Screenshot (89).png

6. REACT 2025

React 2025 will show the journey from zero lines of code to production for a real SaaS app. I have not started this course yet but I plan to in the future to gain a deeper understanding of React.

Screenshot (88).png

7. GENERAL ASSEMBLY DASH

Dash is a free course that teaches you the basics of web development through projects. This is another course I have not started yet but it is definitely a course I will look at in the future.

Screenshot (86).png

8. SCRIMBA

Scrimba has a free React course that is great for learning React features. During the course, you will participate in interactive coding challenges and by the end of the course, you would have built two React apps.

Screenshot (85).png

9. LEARN WITH LEON

Learn with Leon is a Twitch channel that I love to watch. Leon is a teacher and he hosts a Free Coding Bootcamp. He is so patient and great at breaking down you never feel overwhelmed when completing projects with him.

Screenshot (90).png

10. FREE CODE CAMP

Many of you will have used Free Code Camp but it is honestly one of the greatest free resources out there, especially for understand frontend libraries.

Screenshot (83).png

I hope this was helpful, feel free to share courses that you feel has benefited you with your frontend skills.